President Tinubu Honors Fallen Heroes of Okuoma Killings with National Awards

Taiwo Ajayi
2 Min Read

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu of Nigeria has posthumously honored the 17 heroes of the Okuoma killings with National Honors.

The President made this announcement on Wednesday during the Burial Ceremony of the 17 officers killed in Delta State, at the National Cemetery, Abuja.

Four ranking officers, Lieutenant Colonel Ali, Major D E Obi, Major Ashafa, and Captain U Zakaria, were awarded the Member of the Order of Niger (MON).

The remaining 13 officers were also awarded the Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON).

President Tinubu announced the provision of a house in any part of Nigeria to each of the families of the four officers and 13 soldiers.

READ ALSO: What to know about Tinubu’s N20trn Renewed Hope Infrastructure Fund

He further stated that the Nigerian Government has approved scholarships to all the children of the deceased up to the University level.

The President urged the entire Armed Forces of Nigeria not to be discouraged by the deaths of their compatriots, emphasizing that there is no higher honor than their choice to serve in the Nigerian army.

President Tinubu affirmed the gallantry and position the Nigerian military occupies on the continent and in the sub-region, applauding the military for keeping Nigeria’s democracy safe.

Four officers and 13 men of the Nigerian Armed Forces were killed in the course of duty on 14th March 2024 in Okuama Community, Delta state.

Share this Article
Leave a comment