Tinubu Appoints 560 New Leaders for Federal Tertiary Institutions

Adewole Kehinde
3 Min Read
Tinubu Appoints 560 New Leaders for Federal Tertiary Institutions

In a significant move to bolster the management of Nigerian tertiary institutions, President Bola Tinubu has approved the reconstitution of the Governing Councils and Boards for federal universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education.

A total of 560 individuals have been appointed to these roles, ensuring a robust leadership framework for the country’s educational sector.

In a statement released on Friday, Nnamdi Mbaeri, Permanent Secretary, General Services, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, highlighted the strategic importance of this reconstitution. He stated, “His Excellency, President Bola Tinubu, has approved the reconstitution of Governing Councils and Boards of Federal Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges of Education for the effective management of Nigerian tertiary institutions across the country.”

For the University of Ibadan, Chief Bisi Akande has been appointed as the Chairman of the Governing Council. The board members include Alexander Ajipe, Nelson Alapa, Ifeoma Nwankwo, and Prof. Emmanuel Alo.

At the University of Lagos, Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN) will serve as the Chairman of the Governing Council, with council members Bello Kumo, Prof. Idowu Mark, Niyi Akande, and Bola Njoku.

READ ALSO: Top Performing Ministers in Tinubu’s Cabinet

Isa Yuguda has been appointed as the Chairman of the Board for the National Open University, accompanied by council members Goddy Etta, Yomi Balogun, Deborah Apah, and Hingah Biem.

Siyan Oyeweso will head the Governing Council of Obafemi Awolowo University, with Edward Sarki, Joseph Abaagu, Wahaab Owokoniran, and Abubakar Kachaalla serving as council members.

Other notable appointments include Adebayo Shittu as the chairperson of the Governing Board for David Umahi University of Medicine in Ebonyi State, Muiz Banire for the Federal University of Transportation in Katsina State, and Senator Florence Ita Giwa for the Federal Polytechnic in Ugep, Cross River State, among others.

READ ALSO: President Tinubu Commissions 76.76-Kilometre Expressway in Ogbomoso

These appointments come at a crucial time for the Nigerian educational sector, addressing the need for effective governance and management. President Tinubu’s reconstitution of these councils and boards is seen as a strategic effort to ensure that the institutions are well-managed and capable of providing quality education.

The newly appointed leaders are expected to bring their wealth of experience and expertise to their respective roles, contributing to the overall improvement and development of tertiary education in Nigeria.

Share this Article
Leave a comment